Hipsters Paradise

If you live in Preston (Victoria) and don’t sport an overgrown beard or wear double denim then surprisingly you actually stand out!  The Northern suburbs are crawling with self-proclaimed Hipsters but this has some advantages. This week as Melbourne decided to finally transition from Winter to Spring, I thought I’d embrace my inner Hipster (without the double denim) and shout my partner to a trip to our favourite cafe.

Living in Melbourne you learn (usually the hard way) to never get in the way of a tram and to always take an umbrella because clear sunny skies never last… and of course we forgot the umbrella! Lucky for us Sartoria Cafe is only a hop, skip and a jump away from our doorstep but far enough to become saturated from the typical random Melbourne downpour.

I’ve never visited Sartoria without it being buzzing with hip people but that’s what adds to its character, charm and history. Sartoria used to be a successful dressmakers factory and still displays a range of sewing machinery, items and slideshows of photos from the old factory.

IMG_1081.JPG

Sartoria
adjective sar·to·ri·a
:  of or relating to a tailor or tailored clothes; broadly :  of or relating to clothes

Not being a Coffee drinker always brings out my inner child, I find myself by ordering their Salted Caramel Milkshake and a selection off their themed menu. I’m not saying that I’m Superman but this place definitely is my kryptonite. So if you can’t find me on a Sunday morning, you’ll probably find me in a self-induced food coma at Sartoria!

