Dog takes the cake

When I head out to my favourite Albany eatery Phillips Brook, it’s not the food I look forward to most, even though it’s delicious.

It’s not the coffee I crave, although it’s the finest in town.

It’s not even the rustic art gallery just off to the side selling the owner Bronwen Newbury’s work (although it’s spectacular).

No. It’s the dog. The dog named Harvey.

Harvey is the delightful ‘cafe dog’ who gives himself the job each day of greeting customers at Phillips Brook.

FullSizeRender (1)
This little waiter needs a break!

Many a Sunday afternoon I have spent sunning myself in the gardens of Phillips Brook, with a glass of local Riesling in hand, chatting among friends and playing with Harvey.

Could a Sunday get any better? I think not.

Leave a Reply

